top of page

Staff & Leadership

Meet the Team



Simon moved to Whitstable in 2007 when he took up the post of Team Vicar at All Saints Church in Whitstable. Since November 2021 Simon has shared his time between us here at St John’s in Swalecliffe, as well as remaining as Team Vicar at All Saints in Whitstable.

Simon (and his dog) are keen walkers and Simon can often be seen on his bike around town. 

jane myhill.webp


Children & Families Minister


Jane Myhill is our Children & Families Minister.  Jane's husband is David and they have two children and a variety of pets!  

She writes: "I believe God loves everybody, from the youngest to the oldest and I'm looking forward to working with children and families at St John's, helping them to know God's love for each of them.



Jan Bailey
Tel: 07801752729
Ann Poole
Tel: 07768628492
20210820_131323_2 (1).jpg
Assistant Wardens
Lorri Currie & Jeremy St John













Nick is DCC Secretary, a member of the PCC and also Deanery Synod. 

Nick Widdows
Nick Widdows.jpg













Anne is married to Mike, Chairman of 6th Whitstable Scout Group.  Ann is now retired following a long career in childcare.   She enjoys gardening, cooking, travelling and also helps to arrange the flowers in church!

Ann Poole
Child Protection & Safeguarding Officer
20210820_131323_2 (1).jpg

The District Church Council (DCC)


The DCC is made up of a group of people nominated and elected at our Annual District Church Meeting.  Anyone who is a member of the church can be nominated to serve on the church council.  The DCC holds legal responsibility for the church and oversees all the practical and business parts of running a church, as well as being somewhere people can share ideas about the life of the church.  The DCC meets six times a year and always starts with a time of prayer and worship together.  Current members of the DCC are Amanda Boucherat (Deanery Synod rep), Lorri Currie, Jack Dale, Maxine Gambrill, Joan Hughes, Chris McKane, Karen McKane, Stewart Neame (PCC rep), Sue Scott and Nick Widdows (Deanery Synod rep).

The Parochial Church Council (PCC)


St John's Parish Church (Swalecliffe with Chestfield) is a member of the Whitstable Team of Anglican Churches, together with All Saints Church, St Alphege Church (Seasalter), St Alphege Church (Whitstable), St Peter's Church and St Andrew's Church.  The PCC is made up of members from each of the team churches and meets four times a year.


The PCC holds legal responsibility for all the team churches and discusses the overall strategy for the team and how the team co-ordinates with each other.  The current members of the PCC representing St John's are Amanda Boucherat (PCC Vice-Chair and Lay Chair, Reculver Deanery), Maxine Gambrill, Joan Hughes, Karen McKane, Stewart Neame and Nick Widdows.


Centre Bookings Secretary

Chris McKane


Chatterbox Leader

Jane Myhill


Coffee Break Leaders

Joan Pilgrim and Bernard Self

Gift Aid Secretary

Maxine Gambrill


Sharon Braddy (website and online); Karen McKane (newsletter); Nick Widdows (Update)

Saturday Market Co-ordinator

Mary Fuller


Jack Dale

bottom of page